Friday, 16 August 2019


On Tuesday 13th August 41 members attended the AGM of the Melbourne Chapter. A new committee was elected with six members returning and six new members joining the committee. As is the custom for this meeting there was no guest speaker and the Heads of Schools who were present, Ikenobo, Shogetsudo koryu, Ohara and Sogetsu, gave a demonstration. 

Heads of Schools, left to right, Yukako Braun, Ikenobo school. Lyn Wong, Ohara school. Christopher James, Sogetsu school. Chieko Yazaki, Shogetsudokoryu.

On this occasion the demonstrators created their ikebana concurrently and then each Head of School spoke about the ikebana they had created.     

Yukako Braun. 

Completed ikebana.

Chieko Yazaki.

Completed ikebana.

Lyn Wong.

Completed ikebana.

Christopher James.

Completed ikebana.

Below are the ikebana arrangements made by members that were presented following the demonstration and the close of the formal meeting.

Lee Johnstone, Sogetsu School

Nicole McDonald, Sogetsu School

Margaret Wilson, Sogetsu School

Marjorie Campkin-Smith, Sogetsu School

Rachel Lok, Shogetsudo koryu School

Helen Marriott, Shogetsudo koryu School

Lara Telford, Sogetsu School

Elizabeth Angell. Sogetsu School

Toula Karanikolopoulos, Sogetsu School

Emily Karanikolopoulos, Sogetsu School

Josephine Tan, Ohara School

Felicia Huang, Ohara School

Kim Ng, Ohara School

Judy Hajdu, Ohara School 

Anne Conrick, Ohara School


Hiroshima Peace Day was commemorated by a special service in St Paul's Cathedral in Melbourne on Sunday 4th August. The service was attended by Mr Matsunaga the Consul-General of Japan, who with his wife are the patrons of the Melbourne Chapter of Ikebana International. The Hiroshima Peace Candle was lit by Mr Matsunaga who also gave an address on the theme of international peace.

The Melbourne Chapter of Ikebana International provided two large ikebana works for the service.

This larger installation, above, was created by members of the Shogetsudo koryu school led by Chieko Yazaki.

The second work was created by Emily Karanikolopoulos representing the Sogetsu school.

Members of the Melbourne Chapter of I.I. attended the Service along with the President, Trish Ward. Following the Service a morning tea in the Chapter House was attended by Mr and Mrs Matsunaga, members of Ikebana International,  members of Melbourne Japanese Community and other guests.The Service and our Ikebana arrangements were filmed, and attendees were interviewed on the day. It later broadcasted on SBS.