Sunday, 18 March 2018


At the meeting on 13th March the Melbourne Chapter celebrated its 59th birthday with a cake made by Marjorie Campkin-Smith.

Chieko Yazaki, the Immediate Past President had the honour of cutting the cake that was enjoyed by all the members.  Our Co-patron Yoko Matsunaga, wife of the Consul General of Japan was present at the meeting.

L - R. President Trish Ward, Yoko Matsunaga, Chieko Yazaki.

The theme of the meeting was 'Favourite Ikebana Materials'. Members were encouraged to bring material, usually from their own garden, that they find useful in their ikebana. 

Sally Wilkinson, gave a demonstration of a nageire arrangement using typical Autumn materials, Hydrangea and Miscanthus, from her garden.

After the demonstration the members spoke about the particular qualities of their materials as each arrangement was admired. Below are some of the arrangement created by members for the meeting.         

Margaret Wilson.

Aiko Nakada.

Christopher James.

Chieko Yazaki.

Beverley Webster.

Akemi Suzuki.

Emily Karanikolopoulos

Thea Sartori.

Trish Ward.

Toula Karanikolopoulos

Betty Karanikolopoulos.

Marcia Lamrock.

Marjorie Campkin-Smith.

Saturday, 10 March 2018


This week from Monday 5th to Friday 9th of March the Melbourne Chapter held an exhibition in the foyer of Bourke Place, a 224 metre office block in the centre of the city. The exhibition space was on the Bourke St frontage to one side of the central lift core. We used our shoji screens to help define the exhibition and provide a suitable background for arrangements that were to be seen from the front view only. Other arrangements were to be viewed from all around, including four larger installation works.

This view shows about two thirds of the exhibits seen from the main approach to the space. To the right of this view is the lift core...

...which became the back drop for this group of ikebana works.

This general view is of the exhibition as seen from the foyer cafe. Below are the individual ikebana works, the names of their creators and school of ikebana.

Helen Marriott, Shogetsudokoryu School.

Toula Karanikolopoulos, Sogetsu School.

Felicia Huang, Ohara School.

Yukako Braun, Ikenobo School.

Lara Telford, Sogetsu School.

Chiemi Daly, Shogetsudokoryu School.

Emily Karanikolopoulos, Sogetsu School.

Yoshie Arai, Shogetsudokoryu School.

Lucy Papas, Sogetsu School.

Aiko Nakada, Ohara School.

Naomi Cullen, Ichiyo School.

Beverley Webster, Sogetsu School.

Lorraine Langley, Ikenobo School.

Lisa Yazaki, Shogetsudokoryu School.

Qui Nguyen, Ikenobo School.

Katrina Cunningham, Ichiyo School.

Christopher James, Sogetsu School.

Chieko Yazaki, Shogetsudokoryu School.