Saturday, 13 October 2018


Forty members and four guests attended attended the meeting which had the theme, Japanese Day. The guest presenter was Mr. Sato, the Managing Director of the Australian subsidiary of the tea company, Ito En. Mr Sato who gave a Power Point presentation on Chado, the 'Way of Tea' and a demonstration of the preparation of Macha 

His talk encompassed the history of Chado and how the four elements: Wa, - harmony, Kei - respect, Sei - purity and Jaku - tranquility all come into play within the ceremony.

Our co-patron Mrs. Yoko Matsunaga, wife of the Consul General of Japan, was also present and participated in the demonstration as the 'guest' at the tea ceremony. She explained the finer points of accepting the tea as a guest. For example, taking your rings off so as not to damage the beautiful tea bowl. Mr.Sato’s talk was really interesting and every member given a cup of the Matcha to finish.

Members were then treated to an ikebana demonstration by Lyn Wong, Toula Karanikolopoulos, Lee Johnstone and Elizabeth Angell, in which mizuhiki was used. (Unfortunately only three of the photographs were clear enough to be included.)

Lyn Wong.

Lee Johnstone.

Elizabeth Angell.

Below are photos of some of the arrangements made by members on the day.

Beverley Webster

Christopher James

Anne Conrick


Reiko Ito


Helen Marriott

Akemi Suzuki

Nicole MacDonald

Emily Karanikolopoulos

Betty Karanikolopoulos

Kim Ng

Eugenia Chudacek

Saturday, 29 September 2018


At the September meeting our guest speaker was Wayne Crothers, the Senior Curator of Asian Art at the National Gallery of Victoria. Wayne gave an engaging and informative presentation of developments in contemporary arts in Japan. His illustrated lecture was enjoyed by the 33 members who attended the meeting.

A demonstration on the theme of contemporary ikebana was given by Akemi Suzuki who created a sculptural work using 'unconventional materials' only.

Below are works created by some of the members on the theme of 'contemporary Ikebana'.

Philip Keon

Aiko Nakada

Anne Conrick

Betty Karanikolopoulos

Chieko Yazaki

Elizabeth Angell

Felicia Huang

Josephine Tan

Kim Ng

Lee Johnstone

Lyn Wong

Margaret Leung

Rachael Lok

Toula Karanikolopoulos

Monday, 20 August 2018


On Tuesday the Annual General Meeting of Ikebana International Melbourne, Chapter 29 was held at the Toorak Uniting Church Hall. The committee was pleased to welcome two new members, Julie Ireland (a past president of the Chapter) and Chiemi Daly. Our colleague Margaret Wilson retired from the committee and we are most grateful for her valuable contribution to the work of the committee.

At the meeting a demonstration by each school was given. The following four photos are of ikebana arranged by the heads of school in Melbourne.

Naomi Cullen, Ichiyo School

Chieko Yazaki, Shogetsudokoryu School.

Christopher James, Sogetsu School.

Aiko Nakada, Ohara School.

This 'shimuptai' arrangement was by Julie Ayers, representing Yukako Braun head of the Ikenobo School.

The following arrangement were made by members at the meeting.

Elizabeth Angell, Sogetsu School.

Lee Johnstone, Sogetsu School.

Lyn Wong, Ohara School.

Kim Ng, Ohara School.

Beverley Webster, Sogetsu School.

Lara Telford, Sogetsu School.

Marjorie Campkin-Smith, Sogetsu School.

Betty Karanikolopoulos, Sogetsu School.

Toula Karanikolopoulos, Sogetsu School.